Why I choose bamboo bed sheets!

Bamboo bed sheets

This is my first blog post on bamboo home ware. It’s a topic I have a massive passion for and I feel eco-friendly bedding is the way forward. I don’t know if you have noticed in the last 10 years or so, but there is has been an explosion in eco-friendly bamboo bedding. I have been using bamboo bed sheets for the last 5 years and I’m going to share with you my thoughts on this subject. If you haven’t used bed sheets made from bamboo before, you really should, they feel so dreamy and nice to sleep on. There are many advantages to having bamboo bed sheets and I’m going to tell you what they are.

The thing that I find about bamboo sheets is that they make my skin feel so nice and then I can drift off to sleep easily. Unlike polyester sheeting, bamboo sheets do not cling to your body and they just kind of wrap around you. Polyester is a man-made fabric and it doesn’t breathe like cotton or bamboo. The benefits of bamboo sheets are that they are all natural fiber, hypo-allergenic, eco-friendly, organic and moisture resistant. As you can see bamboo is much for a relaxing sleep with these properties for people with allergies like myself.

The other important factor with bamboo is that plant only grows in humid and warm temperatures like in Southeast Asia. For the bamboo plant to survive in these conditions it needs to protect itself from bacteria and mold. Even after the fibers have made into bamboo bedding it still retains its antibacterial and antifungal properties. The fantastic thing about these sheets is that they are superb for people with allergies because they resist fungal growth and allergies. This video shows how bamboo plants are grown https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNQ6UQ0VB9I.

Bamboo has been used for centuries as a source of bedding material and also used for constructing houses. It does not need any pesticides to grow which makes it kinder to the environment and that must be a good thing? I found an interesting article about bamboo in China and how it has been used for a variety of different uses. I think it’s safe to assume that the bamboo sheets that I have were produced in China as the country produces the most bamboo fiber in the world.

I think bamboo is the way forward for being eco-friendly with bedding and home ware. Bamboo bedding and home ware items do cost slightly more than normal polyester or ploy/cotton bedding, but this girl is worth it! I’ll be posting some more of thoughts on the topic later on, so I hope you enjoyed this article?

Love ya Misty xxx

Leave a Reply

